Why the No Kool-Aid Zone?

Posted: December 8, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

I am new to blogging, as matter of fact this is my very first post ever. I guess the first thing I should do is explain a little bit about myself and why I would choose a name like this and what you can expect from my postings.

A little about me: I am a career soldier with close to two decades in the Army, a proud family man, I try to be a good friend and do try my best to provide a good example to my children of what it means to be a good, productive, American. I like to sit back and watch people in a variety of situations, enjoying the fact that they never really realize that how they are presenting themselves at that particular moment is how everyone around them is bearing witness to the show they are putting on.

What do I mean by “The no kool-aid zone”?: As a career military man, there have been countless times I have had to just sit there and “drink the kool-aid”, go along with what I am being told, just because that is the right thing to do. The fact that it usually comes from someone of senior rank and I have no desire to be demoted plays a significant part in that as well. Many of us out there, regardless of where you work, fall into the same situations on a daily basis. Career stability, families, money issues, or may even be the fact that you are just one of those people who naturally go with the flow are some of the many reasons why we all at some point drink the kool-aid.

This blog is a place for me to constructively vent my discontent at maintaining the status quo and to get some feedback whether it agrees with my tirade of the moment or not.

I am a firm believer that one of the greatest things about being an American is our right to speak our minds and protest what we feel is wrong. Hell, we wouldn’t be calling ourselves Americans right now if a few people a couple hundred years ago did not feel the same way. I do feel however that when you speak up about something it should be done constructively and not through a sense of entitlement or without something so simple as say, AN ACTUAL POINT. Bitching isn’t protest, developing solutions and demonstrating the validity of your point is. I hope with this blog to be able to accomplish a few things for myself: simply vent my frustrations while improving my writing skills (yes, this is bitching); possibly say something that will start some honest discourse; get people to think for themselves; occasionally educate people, myself included, on a topic that just gets under the skin and never seems to go away but no one really seems to know what they are talking about. Mostly, I hope to be a little entertaining and give people who have to go with the flow, whatever their reasons may be, a chance to swim against the current a little bit.

I know some pretty interesting people, I hope that as this goes on I will be able to get them to contribute and not just bore people with my own thoughts on how things should be in life. We have politicians and talk show hosts to do that for us.

Thanks in advance for reading and commenting on future posts and remember……..

Don’t Drink the Kool-Aid!!!

Leave a Reply

