Just a sampling of the NC Amendment 1 marketing

Posted: April 29, 2012 in Child Welfare, Discrimination, Government, Political, Rants

Ok, when I set down to write this I was simply going to post the two commercials that have been running more and more here locally.  One is for what is termed NC Amendment 1, the other is against.  Well, it turns out there are too many videos out there to sift through and find what I was looking for, though I did manage to find the “FOR” video, but the shear volume of “AGAINST” videos is a bit staggering.  So what I have decided to do is post the “FOR” and “AGAINST” videos in a sampling of each so you can see the narrowness of focus that the pro-amendment folks have taken, and the broader, more thought provoking approach the anti-amendment groups have taken.

Normally, when proposing any kind of topic for debate, I would put the views of the other side first in my discussion so as not to appear biased in my opinion.  Since I have clearly stated my opinions on the matter numerous times, I am not really concerned with a fair and balanced discussion so I will present them last.

Senate Bill 514, is the approved act that has brought the proposal to the people of NC.  You will not see Amendment 1 on the ballot on May 8th, you will see SB514 however, the text of which will be one small paragraph in the NC State Constitution if approved;

“Sec. 6. Marriage. 8
Marriage between one man and one woman is the only domestic legal union that shall be 9 valid or recognized in this State. This section does not prohibit a private party from entering 10 into contracts with another private party; nor does this section prohibit courts from adjudicating 11 the rights of private parties pursuant to such contracts.”

That basic wording seems so simple, yet there are a ton of not well thought out consequences that can come along with it.  Just ask the state of Ohio how there vaguely worded amendment worked out just a couple of years ago.

AGAINST:

Here is the lead in the fight against NC bowing to the peer pressure of the rest of the South and cementing bigotry as the only Constitutional right afforded by the state constitution.  PROTECTNCFAMILIES

A few videos demonstrating how the vague wording of the proposal could effect people in NC, regardless of their sexual orientation, as is the prejudicial intent of the proposal in the first place.

First, their YoutTube channel, it is chock full of videos, a substantial part of them from the elected leaders as well as faith-based leaders in the state, all speaking against the amendment:  PROTECT NC FAMILIES YOUTUBE

NC Governor Perdue:

US Senator from NC Kay Hagen

Rev. William Barber – President of NC NAACP

And some quotes from the NC Conservative leadership, several of whom brought this proposal forward:

FOR:

First, here is the link to the driving force behind the “FOR” crowd: VOTEFORMARRIAGENC

Here are a few of the videos they are using to back up the opinion:

Conclusion:

I separated this part of the posting because I did not want you to confuse it with the hate filled, words of “faith” and ignorance above.  I realize that I may seem just as ignorant with my ramblings as some the conservative tools that decided to forever embed their bigotry and narrow-minded views on the internet.  I on the other hand will not be ashamed years from now to say that I stood up for something I thought was right, something that did not embed in the moral and written fabric of the state hatred and bigotry.  I stood beside equality and set an example for my children.  No one deserves to be discriminated against because of YOUR views.  You do not have to agree with how they live their lives to agree that it is their choice to do so.  This proposed amendment, intended as an attack on the rights of homosexual couples in the state of NC, has further reaching consequences.  Much has been made of the attack of the “Majority” on the rights of the “Minority”, but I believe on May 8th, the real majority will speak out against the hatred and bigotry of the real minority in the state.

[] FOR or  [X] AGAINST

May 8th, 2012

Leave a Reply

