I voted, how about you?

Posted: October 20, 2012 in Political
Tags: , , , ,

I just got back from taking advantage of early voting here in Cumberland County, NC.  It is a good thing I did since I know I will not be around on election day.  I have been hemming and hawing to myself for close to a year, ever since the Republican primaries kicked of last year really.  I really did consider not voting because I am not very happy with the way the candidates have conducted themselves over the last year.  Then I realized, that unless every other American sees as I do and fails to cast a vote because they are not satisfied with the choices, then my solo, personal opinion really does not matter.  Hell, even if my vote is just one of a couple hundred million cast, then it is still just a small ripple in the big pond.  The thing is by getting out to vote, I am at least taking part in the process and exercising my Constitutional rights.

Early voting here opened up on Thursday and when I drove by the closest polling place to me the line was out the door and around the building.  If the newspaper can be trusted over 4000 people came out to vote.  I was fortunate today and when I arrived at the polling place I was able to at least get in the building before I hit the line.  As I was leaving it had again gone out the door and started to wrap its way down the sidewalk.  More cars were entering the parking lot then were leaving as I pulled away.

I will not delude myself by thinking that simply by voting I am part of the solution rather than part of the problems.  That is as far from reality as a reasonable person can get.  One small ripple in the big pond (cesspool really) that is our government.  I think that our two-party system is seriously flawed in given the only real choices we have are all we really have.  Granted, one of those two have been wittled down from a crop that started out in the teens, but he was wittled down by people who are only in his political party.  The other side is there by default, it has been a long time since a party failed to endorse the sitting president for a run for the second term.  The real tragedy America is that we are voting on choices handed to us rather than having a legitimate crop of choices to represent the interests of America.  Sorry Gary Johnson, you need a bigger voice in the fight and maybe you will stand a chance.  My suggestion for you is to start campaigning now to gain the real level of support you will need in ’16.

Please do not misunderstand my intent here.  While I personally may not feel that either candidate holds the secret to success our country really needs right now, I am not saying that I think either of them are intentionally trying to bring America to its knees.  I am merely stating that when given choices, especially for the highest office in the land, if people that are not simply standing behind their political parties, are not sure if either is the right choice, then what kind of decisions are we really making.  Undecided and independent voters are generally a little better educated than party ticket voters.  They are not skewed by the party, they want information and they want to make a decision based on that information.

No matter what you think of the candidates, it is your right to either vote or not too.  I did, so if for some reason I feel my vote has been betrayed by the one I selected, I can at least bitch in good conscience, can you say the same?

Leave a Reply

