Sense From the Senseless

Posted: December 16, 2012 in General
Tags: , , , , ,

Just like most of the country I was deeply affected by the tragedy at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Connecticut this past week.  It is barely conceivable to me how someone could commit such an atrocity against one child never mind an entire class along with several of the adults who dedicated their lives to the educational growth of those children.  Over the last couple of days I have not followed the details of the investigation, I really do not know too many of them.  I have, however, taken a keen interest in those who lost their lives.

Normally when it comes to crimes I pay a lot of attention to the details of the investigation, I love the process and usually it interests me about what is found out about the perpetrator.  In this case I just cannot find it in me.  This tragedy is so senseless that I just do not believe that there are any facts that can be dug up about this coward that are going to make it make any kind of sense.  In this case I believe that the facts will just simply be facts; the perpetrator, the coward, the detestable piece of shit, is not around anymore to put them into any kind of context or to verify any of the theories that are going to be out there.  None of those facts or theories are going to make the relatives of the victims feel any better about what happened anyway.

Between us my wife and I have four children.  The youngest two are in high school and elementary school.  Our teenager falls into the age group that events over the last decade have made me live with that constant tingle of my spidey sense when it comes to his school environment.  Ever since the tragedy at Columbine I have worried about the time he would enter high school and be subject to the utter lack of security you find in them as well as the students whose motivations are no better understood today than they were when I was in high school 25 years ago.  Over the years my wife and I have tried to promote a sense of awareness with him, to be cognizant of his surroundings and who is in them.  We have tried to foster a sense of thinking before acting, knowing when and how to act.  We have also tried to demonstrate that it is the responsibility of the person standing at the point of the wrong being committed to do what they can to help those around them.  This is not to be a hero, far from it, just that good people need to do good things when bad happens and at times that comes with a cost.  I will be a proud dad the day he graduates and not just a little relieved that we will have a few years to breathe before our princess heads into high school.

Come Monday morning I will not just worry about my little girl when she is out of school.  When it comes to high school, I think about the actions of crazy teenagers, when it comes to elementary school, now, it is not the students that concern me so much as the adults that those little kids should all be able to place their faith and safety in.  It is not an irrational fear, not like my fear of snakes and deep water, far from it.  It is the fear that no matter what we do as parents, no matter how well we try to prepare our children for the world out there, there are so many things that are out of our control and we simply cannot be everywhere we need to be at any given time.  The sad part is we need to prepare our little girl for things she should not have to worry about in the first place, well before I ever anticipated.

I have nothing really profound to say.  It would be really easy to get caught up in all the controversies that the media is keeping on the headlines.  Religion, guns, mental health, blah, blah, blah.  I do not want to do that, I do not want to rant at all.  One of the reasons I started this blog a year ago was as a means to help me get my thoughts together when something has affected me, much like the tragedy for those little children and their families has.  The rants and opinionated stuff is all fine, every little bit helps, this is just not one of those times.  The inhuman media hounds and alarmists who want to use this to further their own agendas are shameful; it does nothing to right the wrong that has been committed and does nothing but ensure the pain of these families is part of the grandstand rather than their own to deal with.

My family will be all together this Christmas.  I have never taken them for granted but I know there are many things I have missed out on.  Today I am most fortunate though, I have them; in memories, in pictures and most importantly, physically.  I will not profess to be so grandiose as to say I am grieving along with those families.  I cannot say precisely what this senseless act has made me feel.  I am aware there is evil out there and evil is senseless.  Finding out the hows and the why’s are not going to make it any less senseless or easy to deal with when it shows itself in its next incarnation.

My sincerest condolences to the families and community.  Please take a moment to keep them in your thoughts or prayers, whatever is your personal flavor.  Embrace and love your children regardless of the state of your relaitonship

Rest In Peace

Sandy hook

Comments
  1. Well said. For all of us who don’t know anyone involved in the tragedy I think truer words could not have been spoken.

    Like

  2. I sit here thinking of that , no words could ever be said my spirit just grieves, how horrible!!!!

    Like

    • So true Debra. My true hope is that the memory of these children is not used as a means to further an ill-conceived agenda but that it is instead used as a means to affect changes that truly need to be made.
      Thank you for your reply.

      Like

Leave a Reply

